University of Liege | Version française
Academic year 2014-2015Value date : 23/10/2014
INGE0001-2  Strength of materials and elasticity

Duration :  36h Th
Number of credits :  
Bachelor in bioengineering, 3rd year3
One-year preliminary programme leading to the Master in Bioengineering3
Lecturer :  Pierre Latteur
Language(s) of instruction :  
French language
Organisation and examination :  
Teaching in the first semester, review in January
Course contents :  
General considerations about structures and their history, reflexions about natural phenomenon. Discussions about existing structures. General approach to solve a problem of Strength of materials. Mechanical properties of materials. Actions on structures. Force and moment. Equilibrium. Modelization of supports. Internal forces M, N, V and T. Degree of redundancy. Calculation of trusses. Internal forces and force diagrams. Geometrical characteristics of the sections. Stresses in the elements subjected to normal force (N), bending (M), biaxial bending (Mx, My) and composed bending (N, Mx, My). Design of the elements of structures. Shear stresses due to shear and torsion forces. The circle of Mohr. Laws of behaviour for different materials. Deformations and displacements. Buckling. Complements : calculation of hyperstatic structures and of cables.
Learning outcomes of the course :  
The course describes the basics of the strength of materials and elasticity. The course is a preliminary to other specific courses of the STE orientation as Constructions Processes (INGE0004) and Stability of the Constructions (GERE0003-2 and GERE0003-3).
After completing the course the student is expected to :
- Easily deal with the basic aspects of the Mechanics of Structures and the Strength of Materials (all materials) - Understand the spread of forces, stresses and displacements inside structures - Design and calculate elementary structures
Prerequisites and co-requisites/ Recommended optional programme components :  
MATH0485-1 Mathématique générale, first Part
MATH0485-3 Mathématique générale, second Part
PHYS3007-1 Physique générale
MECA0490-1 Mécanique
Planned learning activities and teaching methods :  
All the forecast hours are hold by the professor himself in auditorium. Generally, each course takes place as following:
- Short remind of the previous courses - Exercises solved and commented on the blackboard by the professor and discussed with the students - 10 minutes break - Continuation of the theory with the help of a Powerpoint slide show
Mode of delivery (face-to-face ; distance-learning) :  
Lectures : 18h Practical Works : 18h
Recommended or required readings :  
1. Course notes (150 pages x 2 slides) 2. "Introduction à l'analyse des structures", M.A. Studer et F. Frey, Presses Polytechniques et Universitaires Romandes, 368 pages, 1999. 3. ISSD : Interactive Software for Structural Design (www.issd.be).
Assessment methods and criteria :  
Written examination which includes a part of theory with books closed (25% of the points) and a part of exercises with books opened (75% of the points).
Work placement(s) :  
Organizational remarks :  
Contacts :  
Professor Pierre Latteur pierre.latteur@ulg.ac.be



Home

Bachelors, masters, advanced master et AESS

Lifelong Learning Education

Doctorat (Ph.D.)

Search by teacher

Search by course code and title

Students and Studies Administration - Academic Affairs - Contact : Monique Marcourt, General Director for Education and Training - Developed by SEGI

Programme des cours 2015-2016
INGE0001-2  
Résistance des matériaux et élasticité
Durée :
36h Th
Nombre de crédits :
Bachelier en sciences de l'ingénieur, orientation bioingénieur3
Bachelier en sciences de l'ingénieur, orientation bioingénieur3
Master en bioingénieur sciences et technologies de l'environnement, à finalité3
Nom du professeur :
Pierre Latteur
Langue(s) du cours :
Langue française
Organisation et évaluation :
Enseignement au deuxième quadrimestre
Unités d'enseignement prérequises et corequises :
Les unités prerequises ou corequis sont présentées au sein de chaque programme
Contenus du cours :
Généralités sur les structures, historique, réflexions sur des phénomènes naturels. Discussions sur des constructions existantes. La démarche de la résistance des matériaux. Propriétés mécaniques des matériaux. Actions sur les structures. Force et moment. Equilibre. Modélisation des appuis. Les efforts internes M, N, V et T. Isostaticité et hyperstaticité globale. Calcul des treillis. Efforts internes et diagrammes d'efforts. Caractéristiques géométriques des sections. Contraintes dans les éléments soumis à effort normal (N), flexion simple (M), flexion oblique (Mx, My), flexion composée (N, M) et flexion déviée (N, Mx, My). Dimensionnement des éléments structuraux. Contraintes de cisaillement dues à l'effort tranchant et à la torsion. Le cercle de Mohr. Lois de comportement à la rupture et courbes intrinsèques. Déformations et déplacements. Le flambement. Compléments : levée d'hyperstaticité et calcul des câbles.
Acquis d'apprentissage (objectifs d'apprentissage) du cours :
Ce cours parcourt les bases de la théorie de la résistance des matériaux et de l'élasticité et constitue la base d'enseignements plus spécifiques de l'orientation STE (entre autres : procédés généraux de constructions (INGE0004) et stabilité des constructions (GERE0003-2 et GERE0003-3).
A l'issue de ce cours, l'étudiant doit être capable de :
- Maîtriser les aspects fondamentaux de la mécanique des structures et des milieux continus, tous matériaux confondus - Comprendre et appliquer les principes de la distribution des efforts, des contraintes et des déformations au sein des structures - Concevoir et dimensionner des constructions élémentaires
Savoirs et compétences prérequis :
MATH0485-1 Mathématique générale, 1re partie
MATH0485-3 Mathématique générale, 2e partie
PHYS3007-1 Physique générale
MECA0490-1 Mécanique
Activités d'apprentissage prévues et méthodes d'enseignement :
Toutes les heures prévues sont assumées par le professeur lui-même en auditoire. En général, chaque cours se déroule de la manière suivante :
- Brefs rappels et historique des cours précédents - Quelques exercices résolus au tableau par le professeur et discutés avec les étudiants - Pause de 10 minutes - Suite de la matière expliquée sur grand écran avec un support Powerpoint
Mode d'enseignement (présentiel ; enseignement à distance) :
Cours magistral : 18h Travaux pratiques : 18h
Lectures recommandées ou obligatoires et notes de cours :
1. Notes de cours (150 pages x 2 transparents) 2. "Introduction à l'analyse des structures", M.A. Studer et F. Frey, Presses Polytechniques et Universitaires Romandes, 368 pages, 1999. 3. ISSD : Logiciel interactif et didactique de calcul des structures (www.issd.be).
Modalités d'évaluation et critères :
L'examen est écrit et comprend une partie de théorie à livre fermé (25% des points) et une partie pratique à livre ouvert (75% des points).
Stage(s) :
Remarques organisationnelles :
Contacts :
Professeur Pierre Latteur pierre.latteur@ulg.ac.be